eco discovery park

Eco-Paddles at James City County Marina offered by Chesapeake Experience

Powhatan Creek  Eco Paddles for 2015

Visit Chesapeake Experience to sign up for Eco Paddles on Powhatan Creek.

Powhatan Creek, a tributary in the lower James River, is known for its exceptional biodiversity. This paddle begins at James City County Marina in Jamestown and winds up the creek. With National Park Service lands on one side and small communities lining the 22 mile watershed, it is not uncommon to see bald eagles, osprey, great blue herons, great egrets and beautiful fresh/brackish water marsh plants in bloom. The most impressive part of the Powhatan Creek paddle are the bald cypress trees lining the shoreline! If we make it far enough, paddlers will get a chance to get up close to one of the oldest living trees in Virginia! Beauty is seen either on the morning or late afternoon/evening paddles. This is a kayak trip not to be missed by the nature lover!

photo

Duration:              2.5-3 hours

Launch Site :       James City County Marina

Cost:      $50/person

Sunday, May 3 – 9:00 AM-12:00 PM
Saturday, May 23 – 5:00 PM-8:00 PM
Sunday, June 7 – 9:00 AM-12:00 PM
Saturday, June 27 – 5:00 PM-8:00 PM
Sunday, July 5 – 8:00 AM-12:00 PM
Saturday, July 25 – 5:00 PM-8:00 PM
Sunday, August 2 – 9:00 AM-12:00 PM
Saturday, August 15 – 5:00 PM-8:00 PM
Sunday, September 6 – 9:00 AM-12:00 PM
Saturday, September 26 – 5:00 PM-8:00 PM
Sunday, October 4 – 9:00 AM-12:00 PM
Saturday, October 24 – 5:00 PM-8:00 PM

© 2013 Eco Discovery Park, All Rights Reserved           Web Development by Studio Fidelis